Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom

2014 Shared Scholarships – information for candidates

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are for taught Master’s courses only. All courses undertaken must be demonstrably relevant to the economic, social or technological development of the candidate’s home country. Awards are available at participating institutions in the UK only.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships 2014 prospectus – includes full details of the UK institutions offering Shared Scholarships in 2014.

Please note that participating universities are required to support the student stipend for the award holder (at the rate set by the UK government). The CSC funds the cost of tuition fees (at overseas rate), return airfares, and other allowances.


Applicants must:

  • be nationals of (or permanently domiciled in) a developing Commonwealth country, and not currently be living or studying in a developed country (please see the Commonwealth Shared Scholarships prospectus 2014 for a list of eligible countries)
  • hold a first degree at either first or upper second class level
  • be sufficiently fluent in English to pursue the course
  • have not previously studied for one year or more in a developed country
  • be able to confirm in writing that neither they or their families would otherwise be able to pay for the proposed course of study
  • be willing to confirm that they will return to their home country as soon as their period of study is complete

How to apply

All applications must be made through the university at which you wish to study. You must check with them in the first instance for specific advice on eligibility and how to make an application, and for their own closing date.

The CSC expects all Commonwealth Shared Scholarship candidates to be nominated by a university, and to have completed an application form using our Electronic Application System (EAS).

Full help on how to apply using the EAS is provided in our guides, which should be read in full before making any attempt to use the EAS.

The EAS will close to applicants on 16 April 2014 and no further applications can be made after that date. Please note that some university closing dates may be before 16 April, and that some universities may require candidates to complete a university application form, in addition to the EAS.

All universities are asked to forward their nominations to the CSC no later than 30 April 2014 using the EAS. The CSC will not accept any applications which are not submitted via the EAS to a university.

How to access the EAS

Please note that all enquiries about these scholarships should be directed to the university at which you wish to study.

Photos on flickr

CSCUK on Twitter