Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom

Commonwealth Split-site Scholarships – developing Commonwealth country citizens

Commonwealth Scholarships for Split-site PhD study in the UK are offered for citizens of developing Commonwealth countries. These scholarships are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID). For information on other scholarships offered by the CSC, visit our Apply page.

Level and subjects of study

Commonwealth Split-site Scholarships support one year’s study at a UK university as part of a PhD being undertaken in a candidate’s home country, under the joint supervision of a home country and UK supervisor.

Applications for 12 months’ study in the United Kingdom on a split-site basis must be made in the context of a departmental/institutional link with a UK university already in operation or currently under negotiation. Both the UK and home supervisor must provide supporting statements that highlight current institutional collaboration. Any applications that do not include a UK supporting statement will not be considered.

Key features

  • Applicants should be registered for a PhD at their home country university. The final qualification obtained will be from the home country university, rather than the UK university.
  • The 12 months in the UK can be taken at any stage during the PhD study (providing this is justified in the study plan), and can be divided into two or more periods with a period not greater than 12 months elapsing between each award term.
  • A Commonwealth Split-site Scholarship covers full tuition fees for one year at the UK host university, stipend for up to one year in the UK, return airfare, and other allowances. The scholarship does not support the period of study at the home country university.
  • Those candidates who have not yet commenced their home PhD at the time of application will be eligible to spend a maximum of six months in the UK in the first year of their studies.

All subject areas are eligible, although the CSC’s selection criteria give priority to applications that demonstrate the strongest relevance to development.

You are requested to apply to a UK university with which the CSC has a part funding agreement.

Terms and conditions and eligibility

Applications are considered according to the following selection criteria:

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • Quality of the proposal
  • Likely impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country

See Selection criteria – 2015 Commonwealth Split-site Scholarships for developing Commonwealth country citizens for further details.

You may also find the Feedback for unsuccessful candidates in 2014 useful.

How to apply

All applications must be made directly to the CSC (and not through any other nominating body).

All Commonwealth Split-site Scholarship candidates must submit their application form using our Electronic Application System (EAS).

Full help on how to apply using the EAS is provided in our guides, which should be read in full before making any attempt to use the EAS.

The EAS will close to applicants on 3 December 2014 and no further applications can be submitted after that date. The CSC will not accept any applications which are not submitted via the EAS.

How to access the EAS

Photos on flickr

@commschols on Twitter