Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships – UK university applications

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are for candidates from least developed, low, and lower middle income Commonwealth countries, for part-time Master’s study by distance learning on selected courses offered by UK universities.

Funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development, and are aimed at those unable to study in the UK for financial and other reasons. These scholarships are offered under six themes:

  1. Science and technology for development
  2. Strengthening health systems and capacity
  3. Promoting global prosperity
  4. Strengthening global peace, security and governance
  5. Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  6. Access, inclusion and opportunity

Purpose: To contribute to development needs of certain Commonwealth countries by providing training for skilled and qualified professionals in key development areas.

Intended beneficiaries: High-quality postgraduate students who wish to access training not available in their home countries, who wish or need to remain in their home country while they study, and who have the potential to enhance the development of their home countries with the knowledge and leadership skills they acquire.

These scholarships support distance learning Master’s degree courses offered in partnership with local providers in eligible countries, as well as courses delivered directly by UK universities. UK university courses previously supported by Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships

The CSC is currently inviting all UK universities to apply for Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships.

Terms and conditions

Universities must read the application guidance notes – which include full terms and conditions – before applying.

How to apply

Applications may be submitted by UK universities only.

Applications must be submitted using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). Information on how to use the EAS

The deadline for applications is 23:59 (GMT) on 21 December 2017.

How to access the EAS

All applications must be supported by a letter from the university’s vice-chancellor, which must be received by the CSC by 10 January 2018. If this letter is not received by this date, the application will be deemed ineligible.

The letter of support should be sent by email to or by post to:

Naivasha Mwanji
Distance Learning Scholarships Programme
Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK
Woburn House
20-24 Tavistock Square
London WC1H 9HF

Any questions?

If you are based at a UK university and have any questions about Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships or the university application process, please contact the CSC Secretariat at or on 020 7380 6716.

General enquiries about applying for Commonwealth Scholarships or Fellowships sent to this email address will not be answered; please use the Contact us form instead.

Please note that the CSC does not charge candidates to apply for any of its scholarships or fellowships through its Electronic Application System (EAS), and it does not charge organisations to nominate candidates.

Photos on flickr

@commschols on Twitter