South East

Regional Network Coordinators

Duncan Kwaitana (South East) – duncankwaitana@yahoo.com

Duncan is a Commonwealth Scholar from Malawi, completing an MSc Clinical Leadership in Cancer, Palliative and End of Life Care at Southampton University. He has previously completed a Diploma in Nursing and Midwifery at Malamulo College of Health Sciences in Malawi and a BSc Palliative Care Medicine at Makerere University in Uganda.

Duncan has worked as a care worker in palliative care in rural areas of Malawi. He has also been part of a team of national short course trainers in palliative care for fellow healthcare workers and volunteers appointed by the government of Malawi.

Saniya Singh (London) – saniyasingh95@gmail.com

Saniya is a Commonwealth Scholar from India, completing an MSc Global Politics at the London School of Economics and Political Science. She previously completed a BSc Political Science at Jesus and Mary College, University of Delhi.

Saniya’s area of interest is global governance with a focus on human security and development. She is also an Indian Classical Odissi dancer and is a part of the Debating Society of her college.

Rajesh Bhagat (Cambridge) – rkb29@cam.ac.uk

Rajesh is a Commonwealth Scholar from India and is in the third year of a PhD Chemical Engineering degree. Prior to undertaking the PhD, he worked in the corporate research Lab of 3M in India for two years. He completed his B.E. Chemical Engineering from Panjab University, Chandigarh, and M.E. Chemical Engineering from the Indian Institute of Science (IISc) in Bangalore, India.

Your network

Join the South East Regional Network Facebook group to find out about upcoming events, and to get in touch with Duncan, Saniya, Rajesh, and other network members.

If the name used on your Facebook account differs from that on your award documents, please contact engage@cscuk.org.uk with your CSC Scholar reference and your name as it appears on Facebook so that your request to join the group can be authorised.

Past events have included:

  • Christmas party with the CSC Secretariat
  • London Thames River boat tour to Greenwich
  • Picnic and punting in Cambridge
  • Trip to Windsor castle
  • Seaside outing on the South Coast of England
  • Several cultural events during the year including individual university events
  • Celebrating festivals of different countries together

Photos from previous South East Region Network events are available on Flickr.

University Representatives

Goldsmiths, University of London

Edward Dixon – edwardjdixon@gmail.com

Imperial College London

Waqas Nabi Shah – waqasnabi14@gmail.com

King’s College London

Samuel Fanusah – fanusah@yahoo.com

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Brian Serunjogi – amobrin562@yahoo.com

University College London

Gloria Ngaiza – gloriangaiza@gmail.com

University of East Anglia

Md. Humayain Kabir – mhkabir@cu.ac.bd

University of Greenwich

Abbas Agbaje – agbajepal@gmail.com

University of Reading

George Dakurah – george.dakurah@yahoo.com

University of Southampton

Sinjini Sinha – sinjinisinha.geo@gmail.com

If you are interested in becoming a University Representative and assisting in building a strong network of Scholars and Fellows, please email the relevant Coordinator for your region.

Photos on flickr

@commschols on Twitter

css.php